COMA Business Meeting Minutes

Washington, D.C.

April 16, 8:00-9:30pm

Presiding: Jennifer Rahn (Chair), with Tom Allen (Vice-Chair) and board members Karsten Shein, Chris Houser, Jean Ellis. Officers absent: Pat Hesp (Board) and Jeff Ueland (outgoing Sec-Treasurer.)

Note-taking: T. Allen

1. Welcome and overview-

Membership stands at 285, including 124 student members.

- 2. Treasurer's report (submitted by Jeff Ueland)
 - a. COMA balance is \$3,985
 - b. Routine costs: \$99/yr website, and this year \$150 toward physical geog reception and \$200 student paper competition (note: the awards were distributed to 2 students this year.)
- 3. AAG Specialty Group Chairs meeting report (Rahn)
 - a. AAG conference organizers encourage co-sponsorship of sessions to mitigate overlap between SG and conference committee organized sessions.
- 4. AAG session organization
 - a. COMA members recommend that AAG clearly link and allow paper submission procedures to connect topics to specialty groups. It is not clear or even possible on the recent website.
 - b. Field trips need to be shorter and feasible... The attempt this year for Delmarva trip was mired in slow AAG response and high costs, with only 4 participants and resulting cancellation.
 - c. Seattle topics
 - d. Recommendation next year to co-sponsor session/s with IGU (some discussion followed with Psuty, Houser, Ellis), with aim of increasing international participation, esp. Pacific Rim
 - e. Suggestion of possible tour or presentations with Pacific Marine Environmental Lab (PMEL), e.g., tsunami hazards and modeling
 - f. Solicit pre-conference workshop or short course and opportunity for seeking NSF support
 - g. Members reiterated need for more communication among specialty group chairs and co-sponsorship of sessions.
 - h. SG chairs and participating board members ought to have a window of time to coordinate papers and sessions BEFORE the AAG program organizers...e.g., to search on coastal topics and sessions and arrange for COMA organization and sponsorship. (Having a checkbox or flag for the SG would be helpful at time of paper submission.)

5. Russell Award

a. Vice-Chair Tom Allen reported receiving no nominations. A nomination from the floor was made for Paul Gares (apparently a nomination had been submitted/lost 2008 or prior). Vice-Chair asked to receive the nominating letter and a second required letter after the meeting for board consideration (now underway).

6. Norb Psuty Paper Competition

- a. Discussion centered around need for wider announcement dissemination, including listservs.
- b. Members discussed the possibility of integrating student competition within regular sessions. Various pros/cons were identified, but no consensus on change was agreed.
- c. A better way to identify students was noted...so students could be tracked. Better, earlier communication on the competition would remedy this somewhat, but it was suggested that the AAG add a checkbox for paper competitions (i.e., not all students WANT to be in a competition, even if they are identified, and some may prefer being in a regular session while others prefer being among peers in a student session.)
- d. Recommended the competition be advertized early and often, possibly in AAG Newsletter and among other student competitions.

7. Elections

- a. Continuing and concluding positions. At this meeting...
 - i. Jennifer Rahn (Chair) and Tom Allen (Vice-Chair) continue the 2nd year of their terms.
 - ii. Pat Hesp rotates off the board at end of his term.
 - iii. Jean Ellis concludes her term on the board.
 - iv. Jeff Ueland rotates out of Secretary-Treasurer at conclusion of his term (2nd consecutive)
- b. Vacant positions and elections
 - i. Paul Gares nominated Keqi Zhang as board member. A unanimous vote affirmed.
 - ii. Chris Houser was unanimously elected to Secretary-Treasurer succeeding Jeff Ueland.
 - iii. Jean Ellis was nominated and unanimously elected to a second consecutive term on the board.
 - iv. A nomination was made to create and elect a student member of the board. This would necessitate a revision to the by-laws which do not stipulate a student member. Following discussions on the terms, the membership reached consensus on a student board member who would serve a one-year term, finishing out the year if graduating during the term. The student would have to be a doctoral student at time of election.
 - v. Eugene Farrell, doctoral student at Texas A&M U., was nominated to fill this position and unanimously elected.

8. New business: Seattle plans

a. Bringing outside speakers and participants

- i. Karsten Shein recommended inviting participation of the NOAA PMEL in the program or activities of the upcoming meeting
- ii. Suggested that COMA officers consider supporting an invited, possibly international guest speaker to attend the upcoming meeting
 - The Vice-Chair and board could establish a "Distinguished Lecture/Speaker" and support this from COMA treasury
 - 2. Opportunity with Seattle to include NOAA speaker or highlight recent activities on marine spatial planning
- iii. Members suggested inviting Canadian participation, particularly given proximity to Canadian Geological Survey in Victoria, B.C.
- iv. A session like the one organized by Jean Ellis with USGS this year (John Brock and Dean Getsch) was pointed out as a successful example.
- v. A suggestion to be more inclusive and inviting of broader coastal interests was also recommended, e.g., human dimensions, biogeography, cultural-indigenous researchers relevant to the Pacific Northwest.
- vi. Field trip ideas- In light of high cost, slow and low AAG support this year, recommended to keep the COMA-related field trips informal and shared costs among the members (e.g., split cost of a van rental.) Ideas for Seattle trip/s included-
 - 1. Whale watching cruise
 - 2. Visiting beaches
 - 3. NMFS facility in Friday Harbor/Port Townsend

Meeting adjourned 9:45 pm

Post-meeting notes:

The Psuty Student competition paper presentations were held in a single session on Saturday afternoon following the business meeting. Judges included the incoming board members Zhang and Farrell. Four presentations were given with the board deciding to award TWO winners: 1) human geography (Marilyn Montgomery, U. South Florida) and 2) physical (Saini Sherestha, Rutgers). Allen submitted paperwork to AAG for the awardees (Montgomery to be recognized at AAG awards luncheon and Sherestha to be sent award check in mail.) Funds to be drawn \$200 per student from the COMA account.

Per business meeting tradition, Allen purchased beverage refreshments (7 packs and dozen waters) and was reimbursed out of COMA treasury by the AAG treasury staff with receipts)

The by-law changes to incorporate the student board member must be drafted and voted next business meeting.

These minutes should be posted to website for voting/acceptance beginning next business meeting.

Board and Vice-Chair will be preparing a by-laws amendment for voting to shift the nomination timeline for the Russell Award.	